Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.

Our Board

The Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium consists of eight members appointed by the Minister for Environment and Water.

The Director, Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium attends all meetings, which are held on a six weekly basis.

Judy Potter


Judy Potter was appointed to the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium on 21 January 2010 and became Chairperson in July that year.

Judy has served on various boards in the community, Government and tertiary sector, including past Chair of the following Boards: Adelaide Fringe, South Australian Film Corporation and the Adelaide Central School of Art. She currently chairs the Adelaide Festival and is a Director of Musica Viva Australia.

Judy joined the Board in January 2010.

Our Board

Rob DiMonte

Rob DiMonte joined the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium on 10 July 2012. He is also Chair of the Board’s Finance and Risk Management Committee.

Rob is a professional company director, a Chartered Accountant and design thinker. He designs innovative solutions to “wicked problems” and he uses these skills in the areas of business strategy, operations improvement, organisation design and social change.

He is Chairman of Hood Sweeney and Australian Grain Technologies, President of RSPCA South Australia, Deputy Chair of The Australian Centre for Social Innovation, Director of GP Partners Australia, and The Chartered Accountants Benevolent Foundation Limited. Rob is the NDIS Industry Development and Market Coordinator General for South Australia.

Rob is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants (Past National President in 2007) and Member of the Institute of Company Directors.

Rob joined the Board in July 2012.

Our Board

Andrew Kay

Since 2007, Andrew Kay has been the Managing Director of Wirra Wirra Vineyards and is well-known and respected in the Australian wine industry. During that time, he has expanded the business and developed sustainability and biodiversity programs at the vineyards.

Andrew has considerable board and committee experience both within the Australian wine industry, and in external positions including the Joanna Briggs Foundation (promoting evidence-based health care), the Centennial Park Cemetery Authority, and the Industry Leaders Fund Scholars Network. He and Wirra Wirra are strong philanthropic supporters of a number of South Australian charity organisations and contributors to the arts sector, including the prestigious Fleurieu Art Prize.

Andrew joined the Board in July 2019.

Our Board

Peter Kennedy

Peter Kennedy brings considerable experience and knowledge in the fields of construction, superannuation, property, infrastructure investment and asset management.

He has served on a number of boards and committees including in recent times Master Builders Australia, Cbus Superannuation Fund and Utilities Trust of Australia.

He is currently Presiding Member of the Carrick Hill Trust, a member of the University of Adelaide Finance and Infrastructure Committee and has personal investments in property and shares.

Peter also has a personal interest in gardens having a large garden in the Adelaide Hills.

Peter joined the Board in March 2021.

Our Board

Sally McLennan

Sally is an executive leader and experienced senior lawyer, with a focus on corporate and commercial law, governance, asset management commercial agreements and human resources management.

With a background in legal, commercial and HR roles spanning 30 years and across industries, Sally’s breadth of experience enables her to contribute well beyond traditional legal boundaries.

Sally is currently the General Counsel & Company Secretary for Australian Naval Infrastructure Pty Ltd, the Government Business Enterprise (GBE) responsible for acquiring, holding, developing and managing the strategically significant infrastructure assets required to support the Commonwealth’s Naval Shipbuilding Plan.

Sally was appointed to the Board in February 2022.

Our Board

Laura Parry

Professor Laura Parry is a medical researcher, research leader, and inspiring educator who is internationally recognised for her expertise and ground-breaking research in reproductive and vascular biology.

She has authored more than 100 journal articles and book chapters, and attracted over $11 million in research funding to her research team. From 2015 until 2019, Prof Parry was Professor in BioSciences and Associate Dean of Research and Industry at the Faculty of Science, The University of Melbourne.

In September 2019, she was appointed as Head of School, Biological Sciences at The University of Adelaide. In this role, she is pursuing the strategic priorities of industry engagement in the fields of health, biotech and environmental science, as well as the overarching challenge of environmental sustainability. Furthermore, she is a champion of the greater participation of women in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics).

Laura joined the Board in November 2019.

Our Board

Elizabeth (Libby) Raupach

Elizabeth (Libby) Raupach OAM has more than 30 years’ experience in areas of performing arts, arts training, community engagement and fundraising.

Libby has previously worked as the Executive Director of the Helpmann Academy and General Manager of Common Ground, and currently manages a 90-acre rural and vineyard property.

In 2008, Libby was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia for “service to the visual and performing arts, particularly in the areas of education, administration and training”.

Libby has served on various boards including as Chair of the State Theatre Company of SA and State Opera SA, Deputy Chair of the Jam Factory and Windmill Performing Arts Company and member of the National Council for Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences. She is also an Adelaide Botanic Gardens Foundation committee member.

Libby joined the Board in December 2017.

Our Board

Isobel Redmond

After working as a solicitor in general practice for 25 years, Isobel Resmond entered the South Australian Parliament as the Member for Heysen in 2002. She held a range of Shadow Portfolios before being elected Leader of the Opposition in 2009, a position she held until 2013. Isobel retired from Parliament at the 2018 State election.

Isobel brings to the Board a strong background in community involvement, serving on Stirling District Council, Stirling Hospital Board, SA Road Safety Advisory Council, SA Ambulance Board, and many others. Isobel joined the Board on 6 November 2018.

Our Board

Recent posts