Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.

2013 tomato winners

2013 tomato winners

2013 tomato winners

Date posted: 28 February 2013

Congratulations to all of the winners of the 2013 Tomato Sauce Challenge held at last weekend's Tomato Festival!

Here are the winners:


First prize - Helen Hay

Second prize - Ann Brooke

Third prize - Andrea Brookes

Merit award - Chris Durdin, Grant Fleming and Joy Graetz

Primary School

First prize - Our Lady Queen of Peace, Albert Park

Second prize - Wirrabarra Primary School, Wirrabarra

Third prize - Auburn Primary School, Auburn

Merit award - Elizabeth Downs Primary, Elizabeth Downs

Secondary School

Merit award/Best non-traditional sauce - Adelaide Secondary School of English

Director’s Choice award

Colin Durdin

Thank you to our judges Walter Duncan, Rosa Matto, Sophie Thompson and Carolyn Sawtell for giving their time and tastebuds.

Thank you also to our generous prize donors:

  • Fiskars
  • Maggie Beer
  • Jeffries
  • Sophie Thomson
  • Botanic Gardens Restaurant
  • Adelaide Showground Farmers’ Market
  • Rosa Matto
  • Board of the Botanic Gardens & State Herbarium
  • SA Life
  • The Stirling Hotel
  • The Digger’s Club
  • Neutrog
  • Gardening Australia

Thank you to everyone who entered and we hope to see (and taste) your sauces next year!

Recent posts

Saving Plants on Kangaroo Island – winter 2021 update

03 September 2021

Following the devastating 2020 bushfires on Kangaroo Island, scientists at the SA Seed Conservation Centre have visited the island a number of times to investigate what botanical treasures have regrown, and to collect seeds and plant specimens with a conservation aim.